Chirpy birds

On my way to the airport today morning, I heard the chirping of birds. Loud chirping it was and it made me smile. It brought back the memories of me playing in the gardens back in India where I would climb up the trees and pluck fruits. Occasionally we would see the dove’s eggs in a nest before being chased down by the Gardner.
 .
Every morning, the birds would visit my balcony shouting out loud for food and water, which I never missed.
 .
And then the driver called out. ‘Sir, your phone is ringing.’, he said.
 .
As I picked up the phone, the chirping stopped and I was back to the reality of this city with no trees, no doves and no eggs.
 .
I asked myself if I should change my ringtone and my heart said ‘NEVER’.
 .
#Fiction #ShortStory
Leave a Reply

